Linux Boomers

I’m going to start this article off by saying that you don’t have to be born in the boomer generation to be a boomer. You can be a boomer by acting like one. Hate new stuff? boomer. Run a desktop from the naughties? Boomer.

That’s right fuckface.

Linux Boomers are people who act like boomers because they hate new things. They thought the naughties were the pinnacle of technology and say OSS was the best. They complain about ALSA, they complain about pulseaudio and they complained about systemd.

The new stuff just works and looks better. Things are easier now than they were before, unless you’re some Linux Boomer who refuses to learn new things because you don’t want to update your 30 year old bash scripts.

Check this shit out, this is Gnome in the naughties:

This desktop was the top of the line in the naughties. It was great, I’ll admit that. Back in the day I switched from KDE 3 to Gnome 2 because it looked better and it fucking kicked ass.

Gnome 3 came out and totally changed everything. I didn’t like it at first and I switched to KDE 4, like a mother fucker. People hated that shit too but whatever, those people are idiots.

Then MATE Desktop came out, and what does it look like today?

The fucking same shit from the naughties.

Anyone running MATE Desktop today is a Linux boomer.

“I hate new technology, I just want to run the same desktop until the end of fucking time”

Great, do whatever you want. Just shut the fuck up about it, nobody cares.

I switched from Linux to macOS for a number of years and it was fucking awesome. Then my Macbook Pro became defective and I bought a PC and went back to Linux.

Shit is much better now, wayland, systemd, pipewire and gnome 3. It fucking kicks ass.

This desktop just fucking rocks. Gnome 45 is awesome. I use Dash to Panel and some system tray notification extension. It fixed everything I didn’t like about Gnome. Now I’m balling out like a mother fucker. I’m getting shit done.

What do I use? Arch Linux. I want the latest software and I’m not one of those Linux Boomer assholes who wants “stable” shit.

Stable just means old. It’s not better, it’s old.

I use Wayland, systemd, systemd-boot, pipewire, btrfs with zstd compression and luks encryption, a modern laptop with an NVMe and USB-C.

I’m fucking cool. These Linux boomers are fucking idiots.

I had an argument with someone in #fsf on Libera Chat who thought he was more free because he ran some core2duo from 2007 on 3GB of ram.

Dude, I had 4GB of ram on my core2duo back then because I fucking love technology. I want the best shit, “just good enough” isn’t just good enough for me.

And I don’t have a problem with people who want to use old computers and old technology. We get it, you’re a Linux boomer, just shut the fuck up about it. Nobody gives a shit.

“You’re running Waylandows” -some douche

Listen here fuckface, new shit kicks ass.

If you don’t like Wayland, don’t use it. If you have a problem with Redhat no longer putting money into it, then eat a dick. Go fork xorg and use that for another 50 years.

XWayland exists so you can run your obsolete shit. Want to use X Forwarding over SSH? it just fucking works. Stop being a fuckface.

If you don’t like where Linux is going, just go fucking write your own operating system or use something else. Nobody is forcing you to use Linux, and even if you need Linux, there are options. Go use Devuan, or Void Linux, or GUIX, or some stupid shit like that.

I looked up Devuan screenshots and here you go fuckface, XFCE still looks like it did in the naughties. Enjoy your old shit.

You can still be a Linux boomer. Just shut the fuck up about it.

When its 2050, I’ll be enjoying Gnome 99 on my VR headset banging prostitutes in virtual reality. I will emulate your setup in a virtual machine just for the fucking lulz because I’ll have 128TB of ram on my quantum computer like a boss.

I fucked your mom in VR!

Notice: I converted all my images to webp just to piss off the Linux boomers.

8 responses to “Linux Boomers”

  1. So…this i satire…right? lol.

    “Listen here fuckface, new shit kicks ass.”

    This has GOT to be parody! Please tell me this is a comedy bit. If not now, then when you hit your 40’s Skippy.

    Like

  2. Way to stereotype and insult an entire generation. If Torvalds was just 5 years older, he too would be a boomer.

    GNU Guix is actually much newer than Arch, by over a decade! Why are you attacking modern distros?

    Also, you most likely went to Gnome 3 because you came from macOS. That’s just another case of trying to stick to what’s familiar, right?

    Even then, you had to modify it to find it acceptable. Why not embrace the new Gnome design, if “newer” automatically equals “better”? Why are you trying to use a system tray?!

    I bet you didn’t need to install random extensions to get a simple system tray working back in the Gnome 2 days, huh? Hold up, my “Boomer” sensors seem to be detecting something…

    Like

    • Listen, idiot.

      Guix is hardly modern. Sure, it was created recently but its based on old technology like GRUB and it doesn’t use systemd.

      XFCE and Mate release new versions, but they still look like a shitty desktop from the naughties (2000-2009 in case that confuses you, fuckface)

      Yeah sure, Gnome has extensions to customize the appearance of it. They even released a “Gnome Classic” set of extensions to make it resemble Gnome 2, but guess what? It doesn’t look like a dated GTK2 thing.

      So go ahead and use your GTK2 shit, your xorg shit, your OSS or Alsa shit, and go fuck yourself with it. I’ll be busy in the back banging your mom.

      Like

      • Well, Grub has been updated to support EFI.
        https://packages.guix.gnu.org/packages/grub-efi/

        In fact, it has more features than any other bootloader. You can even see that on the Arch wiki.
        https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Arch_boot_process

        Even SteamOS uses it! Grub is modern because it’s been continuously updated to stay modern.

        XFCE is great on low powered devices, such as the Raspberry Pi 5 that just released (I think it actually defaults to LXDE IIRC). For that use case, of course it’s not going to have all the unnecessary bells and whistles, even if the device is modern.

        Just because a distro doesn’t include a package you like, does not mean that it’s “based on old technology”. In the case of Guix, when it specifically comes to not including systemd, they wanted something that 1. supports other kernels such as Hurd, and 2. is configured using Scheme. AFAIK systemd lacks both of these features so there was no interest.

        But I suppose you’re going to say that Scheme is for boomers and everyone should be coding in JavaScript or something.

        The architecture of the Guix package manager, file structure, etc. was inspired by NixOS, which in turn is also newer than Arch.

        FWIW, my main rig is Arch/systemd/Wayland/Plasma based. I’m running an AMD Ryzen 9 7950X3D. 64Gb of RAM, 4x NVMe drives, a Radeon 6900 XT hooked up to a Samsung Odyssey Neo G8 4K@240Hz curved panel, etc. Oh, and it uses Grub, because Grub rocks.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started